19th Meeting of the Liaison Committee of the Quadripartite Safeguards Agreement

The 19th Meeting of the Liaison Committee of the Quadripartite Agreement for the Application of Safeguards, signed between the Argentine Republic, the Federative Republic of Brazil, the Brazilian-Argentine Agency for Accounting and Control of Nuclear Materials (ABACC) and the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), was held on November 29, 2021, in the San Martin Palace, Buenos Aires, with the objective of addressing issues of the implementation of safeguards in the Argentine Republic and the Federative Republic of Brazil.

The Argentine delegation was headed by the president of the ARN Board of Directors, Ing. Agustín Arbor González, and composed of the 1st vice president, Dr. Daniel Di Gregorio, the 2nd vice president, Lic. Marina Di Giorgio, the authorities of the Directorate of International Security, Nuclear and Space Affairs (DIGAN) of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, director Gabriela Martinic and deputy director Mariano Enrico. Also participated in the meeting the president of the National Nuclear Energy Commission (CNEN) of the Federative Republic of Brazil, Paulo Pertusi; the secretary of ABACC for the Argentine Republic, Elena Maceiras; and the Deputy Director General and Head of the IAEA Department of Safeguards, Massimo Aparo, among other representatives of the organizations.